You’re in a Safe Place Now

Old Compton Street and Dean

Last week, to mark the anniversary of the start of Arthur Hayman’s life, I decided to take a detour from my usual path to work to pass by the place where it ended.

Old Compton Street

I often find myself gravitating to the corner of Dean Street in Soho wondering if I may find anyone else there leaning, as I often do, against the lone lamppost imagining the concrete truck rounding the corner and knocking poor Arthur from his feet and the life from his body.

Mysterious Cords

When I arrived I was taken aback to discover that someone had affixed several dressing-gown cords to the post. This is of course reference to the cords stolen from Mr Toppit by Luke in Garden Growing where Luke used them to hold up his rather unwieldy trousers. In Lila Loewenstein’s original artwork for The Hayseed Chronicles the cords were rather plain, here however, they were bright and multicoloured, suggesting the bereaver was more familiar with the successful television series than the books.

Was it you? Please let me know.

You're in a Safe Place Now

Nevertheless, I found myself moved by the tribute and the simple words scrawled on the post. Youre in a safe place now (sic) Arthur, and you are greatly missed.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

5 Responses to “You’re in a Safe Place Now”

  1. Hey man!
    I can’t believe it!!!!! I just stumbled across your blog, you don’t know how good it feels to know I’m not the only one.
    “And out of the Darkwood Mr Toppit comes, and he comes not for you, or for me, but for all of us.” This quote SO applies to THE BIG BLOG OF HAYSEED!
    Thank you Doug 😉
    There is one point that puzzles me I wanted to pick you up on…. I noticed on your photo of the lamppost it is on the corner of Old Comptom St and (I pressume) Dean St. I am not familiar with London as I live in Leicester but I always thought that Arthur was prematurely taken from us on the corner of Meard St. and Dean St. I only know this because of a newspaper cutting I have that clearly states so. I think its from The London Evening Standard?! I can send it to you if you like, it would be great to hear from you.
    Matt 😉

  2. Thanks for getting in touch Matt!

    I’ve heard of this newspaper report, although I’ve never seen it myself despite great efforts to locate it (please email it over – satchel.loner@googlemail.com – if you can and I’ll put it up on the blog, with your credit of course).

    It is my understanding that the paper is incorrect. He was on Meard street that day, that much is true as the Carter Press offices were based there at the time, but he didn’t meet his end there. Other eyewitness accounts have led me to believe that he turned right, walking down Dean Street before stopping at Old Compton to cross the road. This is where, I believe, he was hit. The rest, as they say, is history.

    Please do send it over,
    Doug.

  3. I’m pretty sure definitely was Old Compton Street where Arthur died, don’t know why the Evening Standard put the other place – knowing that paper though!

  4. […] thanks to Matt for sending this in. As we discussed here, this is the Evening Standard reporting, with some disregard to the detais, on Arthur’s […]

  5. […] question “what would Arthur make of all this?”. Now, as then, we will never know, but while the cruel scythe of Death silenced Arthur’s tongue all those years ago, his surviving family have risen from anonymity and […]

Leave a Reply

