And out of the Darkwood Mr Toppit Comes

This package from Penguin arrived today…

Package from Penguin

…complete with a message from the helpful gentleman in publicity

Message from Joe

…and a copy of Mr Toppit by Charles Elton.

Mr Toppit - Front Cover

They have reproduced the image from the boxset on the inside;  how did they managed to clear this with the Hayman Estate?!

Mr Toppit - Inside Front Cover

I wonder what Arthur would make of all this? I will get reading at once.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

12 Responses to “And out of the Darkwood Mr Toppit Comes”

  1. MynameisJT Says:

    Think the book looks cool, have to say, but weird they’ve gone with the boxsset cover on the inside. Kind of a double cover, so maybe it could work. Get on with reading it Doug, so we know what you think!

  2. Smedley Soft Says:

    I think it looks promising but I just can’t see how it’s going to work. The Hayseed Chronicles are just too close to peoples’ hearts! Well, mine, anyway! It depends if this Charles Elton is as good a writer as Arthur Hayman…

  3. I think it’s very canny that the author’s called it Mr Toppit. It can’t help but intrigue Hayseed fans. Even if you didn’t know the books (how could you not!?), I think it could stand out. But anyway: I agree with MynameisJT, Doug: get on with reading it so you can put your thoughts on the BBH! 😉

  4. ginger franks Says:

    hey, do you know from your contact when Mr.Toppit is published, i would like a copy myself? Surely Charles Elton is not going to be the one who finally lays bare the whole Toppit myth…I mean, I’d be a a bit weary of that if I was him, not to be messed with the dark arts of Toppit

  5. Mr Toppit will be published on 5th February. My mother’s birthday.

  6. […] Surprise, fear, anger, intrigue, hunger. Upon reading it (I am now almost half way through the copy kindly sent to me – a full review will follow, but I must say I am rather enjoying it) I was deeply moved […]

  7. Not the best review for this in the Observer this weekend:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/feb/01/mr-toppit-review

    But they mention your blog, Doug! How does it feel to be famous..?

  8. Doh! Just seen MynameisJT posted the Sunday Times one. I’ll leave you alone now…

  9. […] few weeks ago, in the run up to Penguin’s publication of Mr Toppit, I posited the question “what would Arthur make of all this?”. Now, as then, we will never know, but while the cruel scythe of Death silenced Arthur’s tongue […]

  10. Hy,

    Recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

  11. Well! I just tried to access Penguin’s disclaimer at thehayseedfoundation.com, but the page is not to be found.

    My. Most suspicious. You couldn’t make it up.

Leave a Reply

